Strong Marriages Florida is in the process of compiling a list of county-by-county providers of premarital education. The providers on our list offer at least 8 hours of preparation and in most cases provide the education for free to engaged couples in their county.
View Yes2Marriage in a larger map
You can also CLICK HERE (Excel) to see the current list of Premarital Education Providers.
If you or your church would like to be added to the list to assist couples in your community with premarital education, please email .
Florida law currently allows couples to get a discount on their marriage license fee of $32.50 if they receive 4 hours of marriage preparation from a qualified course provider (we are seeking to expand the training to a minimum of 8 hours). You can view the full explanation of the opportunity HERE. But to summarize the law, the training can be provided by a psychologist, a clinical social worker, a marriage and family therapist, a mental health counselor, or an official representative of a religious institution if the representative has relevant training. And the course providers need to be registered with their county clerk prior to providing the marriage preparation.
The 8 hours can include use of books, articles, videos, seminars, marriage inventories and other sources. It does not require 8 hours of face to face meetings, but should include at least 2 in-person meetings between the couple and the qualified course provider. The marriage preparation could also be a part of a class with multiple couples that meets weekly for example.